The Town of Scarborough offers its own property tax relief through our assistance program. The three eligibility requirements are:
Applicant is age 62 or older as of the application deadline
Applicant has been a Town resident for at least 10 years as of the application deadline.
Applicant’s household has an Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) of less than $50,000
To qualify, your annual property tax burden must exceed 5% of the household AGI. For mobile homes, we consider rent paid in addition to your tax burden. Applicants who qualify will receive up to $750 at the end of the year.
Applications for owners and renters are currently available and the application deadline is October 17, 2022.
The State of Maine offers a Homestead Exemption for property owners who claim their residence in Maine. You must have owned homestead property in Maine for 12 months. This is currently a $25,000 reduction to your taxable value. The actual impact on your tax bill depends on the mill rate.
If you have already applied for this program you do not need to apply again on the same property. If you have recently moved or sold your property, you must reapply for the exemption on your new home, even if you are moving within Scarborough. Applications must be submitted by April 1 in order to qualify for the next tax year. Applications received after April 1 will not be effective until the following tax year.
The State of Maine offers a Veteran’s Exemption for property owners who meet one of the following criteria:
Age 62 or older and served during a recognized war period
Receives 100% disability from the VA
Surviving spouse, minor child, or widowed parent of a Veteran
Applications must be submitted by April 1 in order to qualify for the next tax year. You must provide the Veteran’s DD 214 with the application. Applications received after April 1 will not be effective until the following tax year.
The State of Maine offers a Blind Exemption to homeowners who are legally blind.
Applications must be submitted by April 1 in order to qualify for the next tax year. You must provide a letter from your doctor with the application. Applications received after April 1 will not be effective until the following tax year.
In 2021, the Maine Legislature reinstated this property tax deferral program to help seniors and the fully disabled stay in their homes and age in place. For qualified and approved applicants, the State of Maine will pay the property taxes each year. The state will place a lien on the property and all deferred taxes (and accrued interest) are repaid to the state when the property is sold or the applicant passes away.
An owner of the property must be 65 years of age or have a permanent disability that prevents an individual from being employed.
An applicant or applicants must be the deeded property owner and must be receiving a Homestead Exemption.
Applicants must have an income of less than $40,000 and liquid assets of less than $50,000 (or $75,000 if a joint application).
The property must have NO municipal liens for unpaid property taxes filed against it at the time of application.
Applications must be filed with the Assessor's Office between January 1 and April 1 each year. Applications are forwarded to Maine Revenue Services who review the application and make the determination for acceptance and approval.
Questions on this State managed program can be referred to Maine Revenue Services, Property Tax Division, at 207-624-5600 or firstname.lastname@example.org. Kevin Boyle is the current contact person for the program and can be reached directly at email@example.com or 207-592-3816.