Skip To Main Content

Community Safety

Child Car Seats

Maine Law

Maine’s Child Passenger Safety (CPS) law is one of the strongest in the country. The law requires the following:

  • Children who weigh less than 40 lbs. must ride in a child safety seat
  • Children who weigh at least 40 lbs., but less than 80 lbs. and less than 8 years old, must ride in a federally approved child restraint system
  • Children who are more than 8 years old and less than 18 years old and more than 4 feet 9 inches in height must be properly secured in a safety belt
  • Children under 12 years old and who weigh less than 100 lbs. must be properly secured in the back seat of the vehicle, if possible.

For your child's safety:

  • Children must ride rear facing until they are 1 year old and weigh at least 20 pounds.
  • Never place a rear facing child safety seat in front of an air bag.

For additional information, please see the Bureau of Highway Safety’s Website

Community Safety Center

The Community Safety Center features a constantly expanding volume of information and educational materials on matters that directly impact the safety, security, and quality of life in our community.

Our goal is to make this website a valuable aid to you as we work together to enhance personal safety and reduce crime and fear in our community. We hope you find this service interesting and informative. Feel free to share it with family and friends.

Community Safety Center

Jennifer Cross

Animal Control Officer

Eric Greenleaf

Community Resource Officer, Civil Rights Officer

Eugene O'Neill

Marine Resource Officer